Clarence’s clarity

Standard

 

savasana

 

What setting allows us to sink into our own happiness? What barriers do we break through for our clarity? Sometimes you endure a problem to realize you can’t stay sane. Sometimes you need time to pause and recharge. Surrendering in Savasana (corpse pose or laying down) to find your peace of mind.


 

This past Friday at work, my boss and I were alerted that a co-worker had a seizure and isn’t breathing. We rushed into the warehouse to a dear friend, Clarance on the ground, non responsive. His body laid limp and lifeless as we surrounded him with blank stares. The situation was almost eerie, he looks so serene while medics are pumping and contracting his chest. He was at peace, floating to heavens gate. There’s was nothing the medics or employees could do to revitalize his body.

 

Clarence’s death was a hard concept to grasp. So sudden and silent. The sweet man who graced me with his presence and stories was gone. He would come back to the shop just to say hi, tell us about his bowling tournament or mishap his dog got into. His eyes would perk up every time he would be asked on those topics, he wouldn’t stop smiling either. He found joy in the little things and always went out of his way to share his happiness with us.

His last moments and our previous conversation controlled my mind until I had enough, and decided to leave work early.

On my drive home from work I saw a man laying outside a building in the grass. His eyes were softly shut and his smile was wide. What was this strange man doing? Why is he strange? Why is no one telling him to move or seeing if he is okay? Why am I judging him for taking time out of his day? What caused his rest in the sun and life? Why couldn’t I be comfortable with being myself and embracing the outdoors. I was so envious it brought judgement…

 

 

"At the root of all our fears lies the fear of death. How would our lives feel different if we died before we die? The power of Savasana, or corpse pose, lies in its ability to teach us how to surrender at the deepest levels. We will align our bodies in Savasana in ways that encourage the deepest relaxation at every level of our being. Partner Yoga poses, Thai Massage and other embodiment practices will empower us to go beyond fear and resistance to rest in the eternal aspects of our being. By exploring our relationship with death in a safe and sacred context, we will be empowered to live our lives more fully and openly."

“At the root of all our fears lies the fear of death. How would our lives feel different if we died before we die? The power of Savasana, or corpse pose, lies in its ability to teach us how to surrender at the deepest levels. We will align our bodies in Savasana in ways that encourage the deepest relaxation at every level of our being. Partner Yoga poses, Thai Massage and other embodiment practices will empower us to go beyond fear and resistance to rest in the eternal aspects of our being. By exploring our relationship with death in a safe and sacred context, we will be empowered to live our lives more fully and openly.”

 

When we lay down we are at ease, we are deciding to soften to the comfort of our frame. Whether we are in a hospital bed, lovers bed, family’s bed or a bed of flowers… There is something significance to this position and I wanted to further explore it.

I was so confused why God took such a simplistic and special person so early. How just the day before he was talking my ear off about him and his wife’s wedding anniversary party. It was so precious to see his excitement to celebrate with loved ones and anticipation of the life event shared with his wife. It made me so sad to realize, I will never get the opportunity to chat with him or participate in his joy’s of life.

I wanted to escape, not think or be upset anymore. I took my dog and went for a walk around the golf course. I found a nice patch of grass, sprawled out in savasana and shut my eyes to the world.

 

20131221-024923.jpg

 

I thought of the little things that contributed to my tranquil landscape. How escaping my mind meant taking in Nature and letting Nature’s essence calm me.

There’s beauty in escaping to an open field and experiencing God’s surroundings. There is something so satisfying about resting your body on top of the soft grass, feeling the breeze brush you and the sun light kissing your face. Knowing that in this moment there is no hurt, hate, negativity or pressure to break your mindfulness.

I looked to the sky’s bright clouds and saw the suns rays sparkling through. Almost as if my inner and outer light was reaching me, letting me know there is hope.  I found clarity in knowing he’s in Heaven and God wanted him early for a reason. I was thankful for his presence in my life, my escaping tranquility of life and my time on Earth.


 

This post is dedicated to Clarence.

I will no longer mourn his death, but appreciate the lessons learned and energy absorbed.

I will give more time for savasana, adoring nature, playing with my dog, participating in my passions and sharing the joys in my life.

 

REST IN PEACE. 

NAMASTE. 

4 thoughts on “Clarence’s clarity

  1. Dear Kelbylyn – I am sorry about the loss of your friend and coworker. Thank you for your personal post that will make me more appreciate life and savasana too. Reminds me of the Kenny Chesney song lyrics, “live like you were dying..”.

  2. Jules

    Love this post about your wonderful friend. Surely he is smiling down on you right now.

    Following your blog now…hope you don’t mind! I love the presence you’ve created here. 😉

Leave a Reply

